RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Intelligent Transportation Systems > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo CTA Transit Signal Priority Demonstration

Study Description

Western Avenue, one of the region┐s busiest transit corridors, is a heavily used thoroughfare for CTA buses and other vehicles as well. CTA provides both local and limited stop bus service in the Western Avenue corridor. The RTA, CTA, and the City of Chicago will demonstrate a transit signal priority (TSP) system that will improve the flow of buses along Western Ave with minimal impacts on general purpose traffic. The project will demonstrate the feasibility of TSP in an urban, multimodal corridor, and build a local knowledge base for implementing, operating, and coordinating transit and signal operations to optimize the benefits of the TSP system. The project will equip buses operating on the X49 route with emitters that will allow traffic signals to detect oncoming buses. Selected signals along the route will be equipped with additional software and hardware to detect the buses and allow the signal controllers process transit priority requests. The project will be implemented in two phases. Twenty intersections will be equipped in Phase 1of the project, and the remainder in Phase Two.

Program:Intelligent Transportation Systems
Current Activities:N/A
Information Updated:October 2014
Study Documents
CTA TSP Demo Evaluation_Final Report (September 8, 2010)
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
CTA Bus Routes:49 Western accessible
Pace Bus Routes:349 South Western accessible
Related Jurisdictions
Municipalities:Blue Island, Chicago, Dixmoor, Evergreen Park, Harvey, Posen
US Congressional Districts:1 Bobby Rush, 2 Robin Kelly, 3 Dan Lipinski, 4 Chuy Garcia, 5 Mike Quigley, 7 Danny Davis
Illinois Senate Districts:1 Antonio Munoz, 11 Celina Villanueva, 14 Emil Jones, III, 15 Napoleon Harris, III, 16 Jacqueline Y. Collins, 18 Bill Cunningham, 2 Omar Aquino, 20 Iris Y. Martinez, 3 Mattie Hunter, 5 Patricia Van Pelt, 6 Sara Feigenholtz, 7 Heather A. Steans
Illinois House Districts:1 Aaron Ortiz, 10 Jawaharial Williams, 11 Ann M. Williams, 13 Gregory Harris, 2 Theresa Mah, 21 Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., 27 Justin Slaughter, 28 Robert Rita, 30 William Davis, 31 Mary E. Flowers, 32 Andre Thapedi, 35 Frances Ann Hurley, 36 Kelly M. Burke, 39 Will Guzzardi, 4 Delia Ramirez, 40 Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., 6 Sonya M. Harper, 9 Arthur Turner
County Board Districts:Cook 1, Cook 10, Cook 11, Cook 12, Cook 2, Cook 3, Cook 4, Cook 5, Cook 7, Cook 8
Chicago Wards:1 Daniel La Spata, 12 George A. Cardenas, 14 Edward M. Burke, 15 Raymond Lopez, 16 Stephanie Coleman, 17 David Moore, 18 Derrick Curtis, 19 Matthew O'Shea, 25 Byron Sigcho-Lopez, 26 Roberto Maldonado, 27 Walter Burnett, Jr., 28 Jason Ervin, 32 Scott Waguespack, 33 Rossana Rodriguez Sanchez, 40 Andre Vasquez, 47 Matt Martin
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, South, Southwest

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In