RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo Kane County LRP Transit Component

Study Description

This project, sponsored by Kane County, addressed the transit component of the Kane County Long Range integrated Transportation and Land Use Comprehensive Plan. It also served as an update to the Kane County Transit Opportunity Assessment Study which was completed in October 2002.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:2009
Project Type(s):Transit Improvement Plan
Grantee:Kane County
Current Activities:The Transit Plan was adopted on June 14, 2011 by the Kane County Board.

The CMAP LTA project, titled Implementation of the Kane County 2040 Long Range Transit Plan- Transit-Supportive Corridors: Existing Conditions and Implementation Tools, was completed in 2015. Additionally, the Kane County Department of Transportation is in the design phase for the CMAQ grant to install bus shelters on the northern portion of Randall Road. Construction will likely occur in 2018.

In late 2013 Kane County DOT received CMAQ approval for the Randall Road Transit Infrastructure Improvements project. This project funds Phase 2 Engineering and Construction for bus shelters, waiting pads, crosswalk markings, pedestrian signals, ADA ramps and sidewalks along Pace Route 801, as recommended in the South Elgin Transit Improvement Plan and Kane County 2040 Long Range Transit Plan CP projects.
Information Updated:October 2018
Study Documents
Kane County 2040 LRTP Executive Summary (June, 2011)
Kane County 2040 LRTP Final Plan (June, 2011)
Kane County LRTP
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Related Jurisdictions
Counties:DeKalb, Kane, Kendall
Municipalities:Algonquin, Aurora, Barrington Hills, Bartlett, Batavia, Big Rock, Burlington, Campton Hills, Carpentersville, East Dundee, Elburn, Elgin, Geneva, Gilberts, Hampshire, Hoffman Estates, Huntley, Kaneville, Lily Lake, Maple Park, Montgomery, North Aurora, Pingree Grove, Sleepy Hollow, South Elgin, St. Charles, Sugar Grove, Virgil, Wayne, West Dundee
US Congressional Districts:11 Bill Foster, 14 Lauren Underwood, 6 Sean Casten, 8 Raja Krishnamoorthi
Illinois Senate Districts:22 Cristina Castro, 25 Jim Oberweis, 26 Dan McConchie, 33 Donald P. DeWitte, 35 Dave Syverson, 42 Linda Holmes, 45 Brian Stewart
Illinois House Districts:43 Anna Moeller, 49 Karina Villa, 50 Keith R. Wheeler, 52 David McSweeney, 65 Dan Ugaste, 66 Allen Skillicorn, 70 Jeff Keicher, 83 Barbara Hernandez, 84 Stephanie A. Kifowit, 90 Tom Demmer
County Board Districts:Kane 1, Kane 10, Kane 11, Kane 12, Kane 13, Kane 14, Kane 15, Kane 16, Kane 17, Kane 18, Kane 19, Kane 2, Kane 20, Kane 21, Kane 22, Kane 23, Kane 24, Kane 3, Kane 4, Kane 5, Kane 6, Kane 7, Kane 8, Kane 9
Chicago Wards:none
Councils of Mayors:Kane/Kendall, McHenry, Northwest
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In