RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Job Access Reverse Commute / New Freedom / Section 5310 > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo Metra Sunrise Express

Project Description

The Sunrise Express is an early morning reverse commute train operating on the Metra UP North Line from Chicago to Waukegan. The service enables reverse commuters to meet 7AM work start times of north suburban employers. Other benefits include a viable suburb-to-suburb option for commuters living north of Chicago and an additional inbound train.

Funding History

Local	  Federal	   Total
$250,000 	 $250,000 	   $500,000       

Local	  Federal	   Total
$179,000 	  $179,000   $358,000        
Program:Job Access Reverse Commute / New Freedom / Section 5310
Program Type:JARC/NF
Program Year:2007
Project Type(s):Operating
Current Activities:Metra implemented the project April 2, 2007. JARC funding for this project was exhausted in October 2011. In its last year of funding the project averaged 8,121 trips per month. Metra continues to provide the service with its own funds.
Information Updated:September 2014
Project Documents
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Metra Rail Lines:Union Pacific North Line
Related Jurisdictions
Counties:Cook, Lake
Municipalities:Beach Park, Chicago, Evanston, Glencoe, Highland Park, Highwood, Kenilworth, Lake Bluff, Lake Forest, North Chicago, Waukegan, Wilmette, Winnetka, Winthrop Harbor, Zion
US Congressional Districts:10 Brad Schneider, 5 Mike Quigley, 9 Jan Schakowsky
Illinois Senate Districts:29 Julie A. Morrison, 30 Terry Link, 31 Melinda Bush, 5 Patricia Van Pelt, 6 John J. Cullerton, 7 Heather A. Steans, 8 Ram Villivalam, 9 Laura Fine
Illinois House Districts:10 Jawaharial Williams, 11 Ann M. Williams, 13 Gregory Harris, 14 Kelly M. Cassidy, 16 Yehiel M. Kalish, 17 Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, 18 Robyn Gabel, 58 Bob Morgan, 60 Rita Mayfield, 61 Joyce Mason
County Board Districts:Cook 10, Cook 12, Cook 13, Lake 11, Lake 12, Lake 13, Lake 14, Lake 2, Lake 4, Lake 8, Lake 9
Chicago Wards:1 Daniel La Spata, 2 Brian Hopkins, 32 Scott Waguespack, 40 Andre Vasquez, 47 Matt Martin, 48 Harry Osterman, 49 Maria Hadden, 50 Debra Silverstein
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, Lake, North Shore
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In